Das Schaudepot

Menu

Little Wonders of the Prairie by Bureau Baubotanik

Bureau Baubotanik, Plant, installation view
Photo: Bureau Baubotanik

The broad plantain (Plantago major) looks rather inconspicuous at first glance. It grows on streets, squares and paths and finds support for its roots even in the smallest pavement joints or cracks in the asphalt. The joints absorb rainwater and wash-ins of nutrients such as nitrogen - from exhaust fumes - fertilize the growth of its leaves. 

Many are familiar with its concise appearance. The broadleaf plantain is representative of all other protagonists of so-called stepping plant communities that shape our everyday urban life. Many of these plants thrive beyond our attention - unnoticed.

“Kleine Wunder der Prärie (“Little Wonders of the Prairie”) is a short stroll through the botanical landscape to the collection of small and medium sized discoveries. The miracle unfolds the moment that - with a little assistance - attention is paid to tread plants.

Awaiting you at the Schaudepot: a performance kit consisting of a bag, spray chalk, stencils, gloves and instructions on how to help inconspicuous tread plants on curbs and house walls achieve a very special appearance.

For 1 to 3 persons

Length: varies 

Special previous knowledge is not necessary (children under 10 years accompanied by an adult). 

Credits

By Bureau Baubotanik (Hannes Schwertfeger and Oliver Storz)

The adaptation of “Little Wonders of the Prairie” for Das Schaudepot was supported by the three-year conceptual funding from the Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, by the Initiative Program “Kunst trotz Abstand” (‘Art Despite Distance’) of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg, and by the Cultural Office of the City of Stuttgart.

Other

Design is organic. Every project conceived and implemented in terms of “Baubotanik”

 (‘building botanics’ is the result of an ongoing process that combines ecological, social, cultural, technical and political requirements. Building botanics raises society’s awareness of the value, functionality, and cultural engineering of green infrastructure in cities and metropolitan areas. Structures that are conceived and built according to the building botanics philosophy not only increase the quality of life and improve ecosystems, but are also strongly embedded in their social context and enter into dependencies with it. The work of the Bureau Baubotanik focuses on the conception of green infrastructures as performative spaces of imagination.

www.bureau-baubotanik.de

Instruction Manual: Little Wonders of the Prairie by Bureau Baubotanik

Das Schaudepot

Menü

Kleine Wunder der Prärie von Bureau Baubotanik

Bureau Baubotanik, Fugenvegetation vor einem Kreidekreis
Foto: Bureau Baubotanik, Fugenwegetation vor einem Kreidekreis

Der Breitwegerich (Plantago major) wirkt auf den ersten Blick eher unscheinbar. Er wächst an Straßen, Plätzen und Wegen und findet selbst in kleinsten Pflasterfugen oder Rissen im Asphalt Halt für seine Wurzeln. Die Fugen nehmen Regenwasser auf und Einspülungen von Nährstoffen wie Stickstoff – durch Abgase – düngen das Wachstum seiner Blätter. 

Viele kennen seine prägnante Erscheinung. Der Breitwegerich steht stellvertretend für alle anderen Protagonist:innen sogenannter Trittpflanzengesellschaften, die unser urbanes Alltagsleben prägen. Zahlreiche dieser Pflanzen gedeihen jenseits unserer Aufmerksamkeitsschwelle – unbemerkt.

,Kleine Wunder der Prärie‘ ist ein kurzer baubotanischer Spaziergang zur Sammlung kleiner und mittelgroßer Entdeckungen. Das Wunder entfaltet sich in dem Moment, in dem – mit etwas Hilfestellung – Trittpflanzen Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt wird.

Im Schaudepot erwartet Sie: ein Performance-Kit, bestehend aus Tasche, Sprühkreide, Schablonen, Handschuhen und Gebrauchsanweisung, wie Sie unscheinbaren Trittpflanzen an Bordsteinen und Hauswänden zu einem ganz besonderen Auftritt verhelfen können.

Für 1 bis 3 Personen

Dauer: variabel 

Besondere Vorkenntnisse sind nicht notwendig (Kinder unter 10 Jahren in Begleitung eines Erwachsenen). 

Credits

Von Bureau Baubotanik (Hannes Schwertfeger und Oliver Storz)

Die Adaption von ,Kleine Wunder der Prärie‘ für ,Das Schaudepot‘ wurde gefördert durch die dreijährige Konzeptionsförderung vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, durch das Impulsprogramm Kunst trotz Abstand des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg und durch das Kulturamt der Stadt Stuttgart.

Weiteres

Bureau Baubotanik sind Hannes Schwertfeger und Oliver Storz. Ihr Design ist organisch. Jedes baubotanisch konzipierte und umgesetzte Projekt ist das Ergebnis eines fortlaufenden Prozesses, der ökologische, soziale, kulturelle, technische und politische Anforderungen miteinander verbindet. Baubotanik schärft das Bewusstsein der Gesellschaft für den Wert, die Funktionalität und die Kulturtechnik grüner Infrastrukturen in Städten und Ballungsgebieten. Baubotanisch gedachte und gebaute Strukturen erhöhen nicht nur die Lebensqualität und verbessern Ökosysteme, sondern sind stark in ihren sozialen Kontext eingebettet und gehen Abhängigkeiten mit ihm ein. Die Arbeit des Bureau Baubotanik fokussiert sich auf die Konzeption von grünen Infrastrukturen als performative Vorstellungsräume.

www.bureau-baubotanik.de

Anleitung: Kleine Wunder der Prärie von Bureau Baubotanik