Das Schaudepot

Menu

Tutorial Takdir. The recognition by Ülku Süngün

performance view: Foto: Christian Schuller
Photo: Christian Schuller

In her participatory performance entitled “Takdir. Die Anerkennung” (Takdir. Recognition), visual artist Ülkü Süngün creates a fleeting acoustical memory space. After sound training for Turkish letters such as r, z, ı, ç, with individual participants she practices the correct pronunciation of the names of those murdered by the National Socialist Underground (NSU) complex: Enver Şimşek, Abdurrahim Özüdoğru, Süleyman Taşköprü, Habil Kılıç, Mehmet Turgut, Ismail Yasar, Theodoros Boulgarides, Mehmet Kubasik, Halit Yozgat and Michèle Kiesewetter. In the subsequent choral pronunciation of the victims’ names, a temporary memorial is created. “Tutorial Takdir. Recognition” transfers the one-to-one situation of the performance into an interactive video. 
 

At the Schaudepot you can expect: a site-specific installation with the interactive video “Tutorial Takdir. Die Anerkennung” (2021, 5 min, Credits: Open Process/ASA-FF e. V, Chemnitz), which will be expanded with further videos and image material of different performances as well as their use in the context of activist actions. Props of the performance, including a large-format banner and certificates, question the archiving of a performance without the presence of the artist.

For 1 to 3 persons

Length: varies 


It is also possible to learn about the lives of the victims of the NSU complex on site, as well as the social and legal processes dealing with the right-wing extremist murders. 

Credits

  • Tutorial Takdir, Ülku Süngün, 2021
  • Production: Open process / ASA-ff eV, Chemnitz and Schaudepot.
  • Camera: Jasmin Schädler
  • Editing: Ülku Süngün
  • Media technology: Roland Batroff

 

The adaptation of “Tutorial Takdir” for Das Schaudepot was made possible by the three-year conceptual funding from the Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, by the Initiative Program “Kunst trotz Abstand” (“Art Despite Distance”) of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg, and by the Cultural Office of the City of Stuttgart.

Other

In her work, Ülkü Süngün uses different media such as photography, video, installation, sculpture and performance. In her artistic research, she examines migration and identity politics as well as memory using process-oriented and collaborative approaches. In 2017, she founded the Institute for Artistic Migration Research, which raises the visibility of this artistic, socially and socio-critical practice. 

 

www.ulkusungun.info

Photo: Ülkü Süngün Photo: Ülkü Süngün Photo: Ülkü Süngün Photo: Ülkü Süngün Photo: Zoe Sophie Alison Haufler Halle Photo: Zoe Sophie Alison Haufler Halle Photo: Zoe Sophie Alison Haufler Halle Photo: Christian Schuller Photo: Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO

Das Schaudepot

Menü

Tutorial Takdir. Die Anerkennung von Ülkü Süngün

Aufführungsansicht, Foto: Christian Schuller
Foto: Christian Schuller

In ihrer partizipativen Performance ,Takdir. Die Anerkennung‘ schafft die Bildende Künstlerin Ülkü Süngün einen flüchtigen akustischen Erinnerungsraum. Nach einem Lauttraining für türkische Buchstaben wie r, z, ı, ç übt sie mit einzelnen Teilnehmer:innen die richtige Aussprache der Namen der durch den Nationalsozialistischen Untergrund (NSU) Komplex Ermordeten: Enver Şimşek, Abdurrahim Özüdoğru, Süleyman Taşköprü, Habil Kılıç, Mehmet Turgut, İsmail Yaşar, Theodoros Boulgarides, Mehmet Kubaşık, Halit Yozgat und Michèle Kiesewetter. Im anschließenden chorischen Aussprechen der Opfernamen entsteht ein temporäres Denkmal. ,Tutorial Takdir. Die Anerkennung‘ überträgt die Eins-zu-eins-Situation der Performance in ein interaktives Video. 

Im Schaudepot erwartet Sie: eine ortsspezifische Installation mit dem interaktiven Video ‚Tutorial Takdir. Die Anerkennung‘ (2021, 5 min, Credits: Offener Prozess/ASA-FF e. V, Chemnitz), das mit weiteren Videos und Bildmaterial erweitert wird. Requisiten der Performance, darunter ein großformatiges Banner sowie Zertifikate, hinterfragen die Archivierung einer Performance ohne die Präsenz der Künstlerin.

Für 1 bis 3 Personen

Dauer: variabel 

Es ist möglich, sich vor Ort auch über das Leben der Opfer des NSU Komplexes und die gesellschaftliche wie juristische Aufarbeitung der rechtsextremistischen Morde zu informieren. 

Credits

  • Tutorial Takdir, Ülkü Süngün, 2021
  • Produktion: Offener Prozess / ASA-ff e.V., Chemnitz sowie Schaudepot.
  • Kamera: Jasmin Schädler
  • Schnitt: Ülkü Süngün
  • Medientechnik: Roland Batroff

 

Die Adaption von ,Tutorial Takdir‘ für ,Das Schaudepot‘ wurde ermöglicht durch die dreijährige Konzeptionsförderung vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, durch das Impulsprogramm Kunst trotz Abstand des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Kunst Baden-Württemberg und durch das Kulturamt der Stadt Stuttgart.

 

Weiteres

Ülkü Süngün nutzt in ihren Arbeiten unterschiedliche Medien wie Fotografie, Video, Installation, Bildhauerei, und Performance. Mit ihrer künstlerischen Forschung untersucht sie mittels prozessorientierter wie kollaborativer Ansätze Migrations- und Identitätspolitiken ebenso wie Erinnerung. 2017 gründete sie das Institut für Künstlerische Migrationsforschung, das diese künstlerische, sozial- und gesellschaftskritische Praxis sichtbar macht. 

www.ulkusungun.info

Foto:  Videostill aus Tutorial Takdir. Kamera: Jasmin Schädler, 2021 Foto:  Videostill aus Tutorial Takdir. Kamera: Jasmin Schädler, 2021 Foto:  Videostill aus Tutorial Takdir. Kamera: Jasmin Schädler, 2021 Foto:  Videostill aus Tutorial Takdir. Kamera: Jasmin Schädler, 2021 Foto:  Zoe Sophie Alison Haufler Halle Foto:  Zoe Sophie Alison Haufler Halle Foto:  Zoe Sophie Alison Haufler Halle Foto:  Christian Schuller Foto:  Ute Langkafel MAIFOTO